British Open 2018: Tee times, pairings for Thursday

Posted on

The Open Championship is the most unique major in men’s golf. From the venues to the weather to the style to the overnight watch for US fans, so many things make this major different than the others.

One more subtle way it’s different that the general fan may not notice is the tee sheet. This time of year in Scotland, there are some 17 hours of daylight. Unless the weather turns grotesque, you can play golf at all hours of the day. This gives the R&A a ton of flexibility to set British Open tee times. There’s no mad dash to squeeze in 156 players from sun-up to sun-down off split tees, as they do at the U.S. Open and PGA Championship. The Masters has a much smaller field, usually around 90 players, that affords them a similar flexibility during a time of year when daylight is much more limited.

The Open, however, keeps it rolling all off one tee, unlike the other two 156-player full field majors. It’s a tradition. It also often makes a lot more sense given the in-and-out nature of links golf, where the 9th green and 10th tee don’t always congregate near the clubhouse.

The mere suggestion of a two-tee start causes an uproar over there. The R&A made the dramatic, dire move to use two tees on a Saturday a few years ago at Royal Liverpool because of impending storms. Some reacted like they were trashing an inviolable rule of the Open, but the move paid off and play got done before nasty storms hammered Hoylake. Everything finished on time. But that was the first and only time split tees were put in play in the 147-year history of the Open.

There are no such dire weather forecasts this year so expect one long ass day all rolling off No. 1. It begins at 6:35 a.m. local in Carnoustie, which is 1:35 a.m. ET back in the United States. Golf Channel is keeping up their custom of going live — we’ll do it live dammit! — from the very first group of each day. They will be on the air at 1:30 a.m. ET and offer a menu of streams for what is a 14.5-hour broadcast. To give you an idea of the spread that this Scottish daylight allows, the last tee time does not go until 4:16 p.m. local and plays deep into the night.

The R&A also didn’t capitulate to the media or the fans and put all the power names together, as we’re seeing more and more each week on the PGA Tour and at the majors. Instead, they sprinkled them around and across the tee sheet. Tiger doesn’t play with Rory and Justin and DJ and Phil etc. Maybe two big names are together, but it’s usually an international mix and rarely consolidated. It makes for a full day of interesting tee times worth TV time.

Tiger will bring up the rear of the broadcast, going with Hideki Matsuyama and Russell Knox at 10:21 a.m. ET on Thursday. Here’s the tee sheet for the opening round at Carnoustie (all times ET!):

1:35 a.m.: Sandy Lyle, Martin Kaymer, Andy Sullivan

1:46 a.m.: Erik Van Rooyen, Brady Schnell, Matthew Southgate

1:57 a.m.: Danny Willett, Emiliano Grillo, Luke List

2:08 a.m.: Mark Calcavecchia, Danthai Boonma, Shaun Norris

2:19 a.m.: Kevin Chappell, Oliver Wilson, Eddie Pepperell

2:30 a.m.: Ross Fisher, Paul Dunne, Austin Cook

2:41a.m.: Tyrrell Hatton, Patrick Cantlay, Shane Lowry

2:52 a.m.: Thomas Pieters, Kevin Kisner, Marcus Kinhult

3:03 a.m.: Phil Mickelson, Satoshi Kodaira, Rafa Cabrera Bello

3:14 a.m.: Brian Harman, Yuta Ikeda, Andrew Landry

3:25 a.m.: Si Woo Kim, Webb Simpson, Nicolai Hojgaard (a)

3:36 a.m.: Stewart Cink, Brandon Stone, Hideto Tanihara

3:47a.m.: Gary Woodland, Yusaku Miyazato, Sung Kang

4:03 a.m.: Ernie Els, Adam Hadwin, Chesson Hadley

4:14 a.m.: Pat Perez, Julian Suri, George Coetzee

4:25 a.m.: David Duval, Scott Jamieson, Kevin Na

4:36 a.m.: Darren Clarke, Bernhard Langer, Retief Goosen

4:47 a.m.: Matt Kuchar, Anirban Lahiri, Peter Uihlein

4:58 a.m.: Jordan Spieth, Justin Rose, Kiradech Aphibarnrat

5:09 a.m.: Jon Rahm, Rickie Fowler, Chris Wood

5:20 a.m.: Louis Oosthuizen, Paul Casey, Patrick Reed

5:31 a.m.: Tony Finau, Xander Schauffele, Jhonattan Vegas

5:42 a.m.: Yuxin Lin (a), Alexander Bjork, Sang Hyun Park

5:53 a.m.: James Robinson, Haraldur Magnus, Zander Lombard

6:04 a.m.: Kodai Ichihara, Rhys Enoch, Marcus Armitage

6:15 a.m.: Sean Crocker, Gavin Green, Ash Turner

6:36 a.m.: Brandt Snedeker, Sam Locke (a), Cameron Davis

6:47 a.m.: Patton Kizzire, Jonas Blixt, Charles Howell III

6:58 a.m.: Charl Schwartzel, Daniel Berger, Tom Lewis

7:09 a.m.: Alex Levy, Ryan Moore, Byeong Hun An

7:20 a.m.: Michael Hendry, Kelly Kraft, Lee Westwood

7:31 a.m.: Henrik Stenson, Tommy Fleetwood, Jimmy Walker

7:42 a.m.: Matthew Fitzpatrick, Russell Henley, Jovan Rebula (a)

7:53 a.m.: Rory McIlroy, Marc Leishman, Thorbjorn Olesen

8:04 a.m.: Dustin Johnson, Alex Noren, Charley Hoffman

8:15 a.m.: Zach Johnson, Adam Scott, Brendan Steele

8:26 a.m.: Justin Thomas, Francesco Molinari, Branden Grace

8:37 a.m.: Jason Day, Shota Akiyoshi, Haotong Li

8:48 a.m.: Todd Hamilton, Beau Hossler, Jorge Campillo

9:04 a.m.: Ryuko Tokimatsu, Chez Reavie, Michael Kim

9:15 a.m.: Kyle Stanley, Nicolas Colsaerts, Jens Dantorp

9:26 a.m.: Tom Lehman, Dylan Frittelli, Grant Forrest

9:37 a.m.: Lucas Herbert, Min Chel Choi, Jason Kokrak

9:48 a.m.: Padraig Harrington, Bubba Watson, Matt Wallace

9:59 a.m.: Ian Poulter, Cameron Smith, Brooks Koepka

10:10 a.m.: Sergio Garcia, Bryson DeChambeau, Shubhankar Sharma

10:21 a.m.: Tiger Woods, Hideki Matsuyama, Russell Knox

10:32 a.m.: Jason Dufner, Ryan Fox, Keegan Bradley

10:43 a.m.: Ryan Armour, Abraham Ander, Masahiro Kawamura

10:54 a.m.: Jazz Janewattananond, Fabrizio Zanotti, Jordan Smith

11:05 a.m.: Brett Rumford, Masanori Kobayashi, Jack Senior

11:16 a.m.: Matt Jones, Thomas Curtis, Bronson Burgoon

Source link